How to use Blueprints

Here’s some key functionality for using Blueprints in Local.

Create a Blueprint

Turning a site into a Blueprint is easy, just follow these steps!

  1. Create a site in Local that includes everything you want in your Blueprint (e.g. themes, plugins, pages, etc.).
  1. Start the site you want to create a Blueprint from.

To start a site, click “Start site” in the top right corner of your site’s page or right-click the site’s name on the sidebar and click “Start site”.

Select "Start a site" in the upper right corner.
Select “Start a site” in the upper right corner.
  1. After the site is started, press the context menu (…) icon near the site name, or right-click the site’s name on the sidebar.
  1. Select “Save as Blueprint.”
Select "Save as Blueprint" from the three dot drop down.
Select “Save as Blueprint” from the three-dot dropdown.
  1. Name your Blueprint and press “Save.”
Name your Blueprint and click "Save Blueprint".
Name your Blueprint and click “Save Blueprint”.

That’s it — you created a new Blueprint!

Create a site using a Blueprint

Here’s how to start a new site in Local from a Blueprint:

  1. Create a Blueprint from an existing site in Local with the steps from the “Create a Blueprint” section of this help doc.
  1. Click the plus in the bottom left to create a new site in Local.
Create a new site in Local from the plus sign on the bottom right.
Create a new site in Local from the plus sign on the bottom right.
  1. Select the “Create from a Blueprint” option.
Create a site from Blueprint by choosing the middle option.
Create a site from Blueprint by choosing the middle option.
  1. Select the Blueprint you want to use.
Select the Blueprint you want to use from the list.
Select the Blueprint you want to use from the list.

If the Atlas Add-On is enabled and you would like to start a site from an Atlas Blueprint, you can select that here.

Select an Atlas Blueprint.
Select an Atlas Blueprint.
  1. Finish going through the “Create a site” flow by naming your site and pressing “Create site”.

That’s it — your new site is ready to continue building!

Rename a Blueprint

To rename a Blueprint, navigate to the Blueprints tab and select the Blueprint you want to rename. Click the “Rename” button, edit the text, and click “Save.”

Select an Atlas Blueprint.
Select an Atlas Blueprint.
Type the new name and select "Rename Blueprint".
Type the new name and select “Rename Blueprint”.

Delete a Blueprint

To delete a Blueprint, navigate to the Blueprints tab and press the delete button next to the Blueprint. A confirmation banner will appear where you can press “Yes, delete [Blueprint name]” or “Cancel.”

Delete a Blueprint by selecting the three dots.
Delete a Blueprint by selecting the three dots.
Check the box and select "Yes, delete Blueprint".
Check the box and select “Yes, delete Blueprint”.

Access Blueprints on your local machine

Blueprints are stored with the rest of Local’s application data on your machine. This location varies by the operating system.

FAQ

Can I edit my Blueprint after I create it? 

Not at this time. Right now there’s only the ability to create, rename, and delete a Blueprint. To edit your Blueprint (like updating a theme), we recommend creating a site from the Blueprint you want to update, make any edits you want, and save the updates as a new Blueprint.  

How do I navigate to the Blueprint files on my local machine? 

Blueprints are stored with the rest of Local’s application data on your machine. This location varies by the operating system.

Can I create my own Atlas Blueprint? 

The Atlas Blueprints section will only contain premade Atlas Blueprints from our teams here at WP Engine (the company that owns Local). You can, however, create a site from an Atlas Blueprint, modify it as you’d like, and save that as a new Blueprint. That Blueprint will be saved to your “My Blueprints” section.

Looking for more Blueprints resources? Check out our other help docs: